Small World Cup (2)

The tournament was not organized by a specific confederation. It was organized by a major international sporting group of businessmen from Europe and South America, who gave great importance, since it was the first World Cup tournament and structured organization that was created at club level, and could also meet in an annual competition to best soccer teams from both continents (South America and Europe).
At the event attended by invitation or classification, the best clubs in America and Europe at that time (usually four teams in each edition).

Editions: 1952, 1956

Intercontinental Cup (3)

Intercontinental Cup or European-South American Cup is a defunct football club trophy, which annually faced the champion of Europe (Champions League) with the champion of South America (Copa Libertadores). For years was considered the top club competition worldwide, so the team could conquer it was called "world champion" From 1960 to 1979 teams faced in the respective countries of continental champions. Between 1980 and 2004 was held in November or December in the Japanese cities of Tokyo (1980 to 2001) and Yokohama (2002 to 2004). As of 2005 left to be held, before the consolidation of the Club World Cup, a tournament organized by the FIFA official involving the champions of each of the six confederations.

Editions: 1960, 1998, 2002

European Super Cup (1)

European Super Cup UEFA also called Super Cup and European Super Cup is a football competition organized by UEFA that pits the champions of the top two European club competitions, the champion of the Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

Was established in 1973 from a match between Ajax Amsterdam and Glasgow Rangers played one year before in Glasgow on the occasion of the centenary of the founding of the Scottish club. Until 1999, facing the champion of European Cup (now Champions League) and the champion of the now defunct Cup Winners Cup. The final was played over two legs until 1997.

Since 1998, the trophy is played on a single party in late August at the Stade Louis II in Monaco. The Super Cup final is the official start of the season in European competition.

Edition: 2002

European Cup (9)

Champions League UEFA (also known as European Cup) is the most important tournament of European football at club level organized by the Union of European Football Associations ( UEFA). It was created in 1955 under the name of Coupe des Clubs Champions Européens to face the champions of European Football Associations in their respective league championships. Since the 1992-93 season has been officially known as Champions League, following the introduction of the first league competition format in the first stage. It's the competition between clubs with more prestige and media coverage of the world. Is held annually.

Real Madrid is the only club to have a European Cup trophy on-site having won the title five years in a row.

Editions: 1956 , 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1966, 1998, 2000, 2002

Latin Cup (2)

The Latin Cup is an extinct European football competition. Faced, between 1949 and 1957, the league champions of France, Italy, Portugal and Spain. The competition had a great reputation for being the first European international competition that pits the champions of the Latin countries, and was considered the second most important competition in Europe after Mitropa Cup, conceived before, and facing all the countries Eastern Europe.

The Latin Cup is held every year at a different venue, one of the four participating countries. A draw decided the pairings of the two semifinals. The semifinal winners play the final. The losers disputed the match for third or fourth.

The competition ceased to be played in 1957 after the consolidation of the European Cup.

Editions: 1955 , 1957

UEFA Cup (2)

The UEFA Europa League is a football competition created by the European Union of Football Associations in 1971 under the name UEFA Cup. Name that was known until the end of the 2008/09 season to replace the Fair Cities Cup, a tournament that was not linked to the Confederation.

The European League or UEFA Euroleague (due to the name that had the tournament until 2009), since 1999 is the second international competition on European territory, the most prestigious after the Champions League UEFA.

Editions: 1985, 1986


Spanish Liga (32)

Then in 1925, professionalism was legalized in Spanish football, the top clubs in the country gave birth to a league. The Spanish Football League is the main football competition between teams in Spain. Held annually since 1929, and the season takes place between the months of September (or late August) and June (or late May). The tournament consists of a pyramid system of leagues (divisions) interconnected, whose highest category is the First Division. At the end of the season and depending on the results, the teams can split up or down.

Editions: 1932, 1933, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969,1972, 1975, 1976, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989,1990, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2012

Spanish Cup (18) – Copa del Rey-

The Football Championship of Spain (Cup of His Majesty the King), commonly known as Copa del Rey or simply the Cup, is a direct elimination tournament held each year between the top clubs in Spain. Is organized by the Royal Spanish Football Federation.

It was created in 1903, following the success of the Coronation Cup, played a year earlier. It is the oldest national football tournament in Spain. While the historical name and generic competition is the Championship of Spain, the title of the competition has changed over the years in terms of the Head of the Spanish State.

Editions: 1905, 1906, 1907, 1908, 1917, 1934, 1936, 1946, 1947, 1962, 1970, 1974, 1975, 1980, 1982, 1989, 1993, 2011

Spanish Super Cup (9)

Spain Super Cup is a football competition organized by the Royal Spanish Football Federation since 1982, facing the champion of the Spanish League First Division against the champion of the King’s Cup.
The trophy is played (two legs) every year in late August, and marks the official start of the football season in Spain. Until the 1996 edition if a team achieves the league and cup titles, directly it was awarded the Super Cup. Since that time, if a team makes double, have to compete against runners-up King's Cup.

Editions: 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2008, 2012

League Cup (1)

The League Cup was a Spanish football knockout competition held annually between 1982 and 1986, organized by the Royal Spanish Football Federation. Initially, only First Division of Spain
teams played it. Involved the top eight of the Spanish Football League, faced in two-legged, one in the stadium for each team. The final was also played over two legs.
In 1986, when only four editions were held, the clubs agreed to cancel the competition due to the saturation of the season.

Editions: 1984
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...