History: 1991-2000

This was the decade in which the Club won its seventh and eight European Cups. Real Madrid sat on the European throne once more at the end of the 1990s, which had an uneasy first half for the Whites with two League titles lost against Tenerife.

Mendoza advances elections

Although he still had a full year on his ticket, then President Ramón Mendoza advanced the Presidential elections to 14 April 1991. Opposite him was writer Alfonso Ussía, whose results were more than honourable in spite of his diminished resources. The electoral success won Mendoza another four years in the Presidential chair.

Tenerife, the “cursed island”

The decade began with two sports sledgehammer, both in Tenerife, where Real Madrid lost on the last day two league titles. It was a blow to the Real Madrid, lost both titles as the way in which they occurred on both occasions.

The year 1993 closes with two titles for white cabinets. In June, the seventeenth Cup win in Spain by winning the final to Real Zaragoza 2-0 with goals from Emilio Butragueño and Mikel Lasa. And closing the year, is held at the Nou Camp the second leg of the Spanish Supercup where Real Madrid tie with Barcelona (1-1) and win this title. The first match played in Madrid in Santiago Bernabeu Stadium on December 2, the team won 3-1.

Valdano returns to coach the team

After snatching two League titles from Real Madrid and eliminating them from the King's Cup in his capacity as coach of Tenerife, Jorge Valdano signed a coaching agreement with Real Madrid set on putting the Whites back on the road to success and terminate the 4-year Liga title drought. The Argentine did just that in his first season at his former team and all Real Madrid fans got to sing along to the victory chant at the end of the season.

Sanz relieves Mendoza in Club Presidency

After ten and a half years in office, Ramón Mendoza handed in his irrevocable resignation on 20 November 1995. He was relieved by Lorenzo Sanz, who held recourse to Club by-law 49 to get elected as heir to Mendoza by the 11 directors who continued in the Board of Directors following the transfer of power.

Capello makes his debut with Real Madrid

On 20 May 1996, Lorenzo Sanz presented Fabio Capello as new head coach of Real Madrid. The Italian trainer landed in Madrid borne out by his five successful seasons with AC Milan, with whom he won the 1994 European Cup. Although Capello only stayed with the team during the 1996-97 season, he managed to win the League.

Seventh European Cup

After a less than impressive domestic run, coach Jupp Heynckes led the team to win the very much awaited -last one was in 1966, 32 years earlier- European Cup. The venue: Amsterdam Arena. Date: 20 May 1998. The Merengues conquered their seventh top European trophy with a goal by Pedja Mijatovic against the Italian side of Juventus, who were the hot favourites that night.

Second Intercontinental Cup

Guus Hiddink was the manager in charge of guiding Real Madrid to their second Intercontinental Cup after the surprising resignation of Juan Antonio Camacho in July 1998, before the season even began. An extraordinary goal by Raúl in Tokyo sealed the more than fair 2-1 end result for the Whites.

Eighth European Cup & First Spanish Final

Vicente del Bosque took over John Benjamin Toshack as head coach of Real Madrid in mid-season and spearheaded the Madridistas towards raising their eighth European Cup -second Champions League title. The venue was superb: the newly built Saint-Denis stadium of Paris would host the first ever Spanish final -as well as the first ever final of the European Cup between two teams of the same country- on 24 May 2000. It was a vibrant game which saw Madrid triumph over Valencia with a final 3-0 result. It was the last European Cup of the 20th Century and, as the first one, it belonged to the Whites.

Florentino Pérez wins the elections

On 16 July 2000, Florentino Pérez was elected new President of Real Madrid after defeating Lorenzo Sanz in the polls. Pérez's successful campaign was based on two pillars: get rid, for once and for all, of the historical Club debt and sign the best players in the world.

Best Club 20th Century

In a meeting held in Rome in 2000, FIFA decided to name the entity the Best Club of the 20th Century or, by all accounts, the best Club in the history of football. Florentino Pérez and Honourary Club President Alfredo di Stéfano received the accolade honouring.

Source Link

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...