Cristiano Ronaldo: Alfredo Di Stefano Trophy 2011-2012

Cristiano Ronaldo is the new Di Stefano Trophy winner. The Portuguese player was excited about the news that he was the trophy winner, which credited him as player of the year in Spain: "This is the first time I win an award like this since I arrived at Real Madrid, thanks to votes a jury". The Portuguese star wanted to mention to his companions: "I want to share with them all, because we have all had a great season. I am very, very happy to receive this award. It is an honor to win for the first time in my career" he said.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Alfredo Di Stefano
Cristiano Ronaldo and Alfredo Di Stefano

Alfredo Di Stefano was the responsible of talking to Cristiano to inform him he was the winner. After a chat, the player rejoined the training camp of Portugal national team because he has a decisive match against Denmark at Euro: "We will win, yes or yes" he said.

Alfredo Di Stefano highlighted the duel that Cristiano Ronaldo and Messi have kept this season for the World football scepter. So they have also been both undisputed protagonists in voting for the Di Stefano Trophy. Nine candidates received final votes, but the result leaves no doubt: Cristiano (35 votes), Messi (30) and Iniesta (4) were the best players of the 2011-2012 Spanish season.

Di Stefano defines the two star players: "Messi arrives at the rival area and tac, goal. Cristiano Ronaldo bases his success on powerful shots. Each one in their style are two monsters, but we can not forget that football is a team sport and we do not have to evaluate just the personal performance. Still, the two players are amazing" he said.

Alfredo Di Stefano Trophy is an award given annually by the Spanish sports daily Marca. The prize is awarded at the end of the season to the player has been chosen as the best player in the Spanish league. The first edition was held in 2007/08 season. The award is named in honor of the Spanish-Argentinian player Alfredo Di Stefano.

To choose the winner, internet users can vote at the end of each day, for the best players of the matches. Through these votes is selected the top 50 players list which is reviewed by a jury chosen by the sports daily Marca and presided by the Alfredo Di Stefano, honorary president of Real Madrid. And after a vote, the jury elects the best player in the championship.

Raul Gonzalez Blanco, the Real Madrid idol, was voted as the best player of the Spanish football league in the first edition. Until yesterday, Lionel Messi was the winner of this award, a trophy he has won 3 times.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...