Jose Mourinho: The Special Four

Jose Mourinho is about to become 'The Special Four'. Portuguese will be the first coach in history to be champion in four of the major European leagues if Real Madrid wins the Spanish championship in the three matches remaining.

The Special Four: Jose Mourinho
Jose Mourinho

The slogan 'where goes, wins' can be applied perfectly to Real Madrid manager. He has demonstrated there where he has trained. Starting from Portugal, where in command of the Porto won two league titles (02-03 and 03-04), to England (two Premier Leagues with Chelsea (in the 04-05 and 05-06 seasons) and ending in Italy with his two Scudetto at Internazionale (08-09 and 09-10), just before landing at the Bernabeu, where he is close to get his first Spanish League.

And with a record numbers. Real Madrid can reach 100 points. And in just two seasons has already matched Boskov's victories. Mourinho is the fifth coach with more wins in the league with Real Madrid, but has reached in 73 matches, 98 of the Serbian. Mou has six leagues in three different countries and are close to becoming seven in four different championships. The only thing missing, and will attempt to achieve the next year, is his third Champions League with three different teams, unprecedented.

The nearest approach to Mourinho in European leagues is Van Gaal. The Dutchman, (Mourinho was under his orders for two seasons in FC Barcelona) has under his belt three Dutch leagues with Ajax (93-94, 94-95 and 95 - 96) and two Spanish titles in Barcelona (97 -98 and 98-99). From a small club like AZ Alkmaar, made very good results in the Dutch League winning again the Eredivisie in the 2008-2009 season and then won a German title managing Bayern Munich (09-10).

With two different League Championships there is a large group of coaches, starting with the legendary Helenio Herrera, who won in Italy with Inter and in Spain with Barca and Atletico Madrid. In the Calcio and in the Spanish League also won Boskov (Sampdoria and Real Madrid) and Capello (Milan, Roma and Real Madrid). Arsene Wenger got the Championnat (Monaco) and the Premiership (Arsenal). Carlo Ancelotti won in Italy with AC Milan and in England with Chelsea. Now is fighting for the French League with PSG.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...